Des Moines University is accredited by the following organizations. If you're interested in a joint provider partnership, please send your educational activity agenda and intended target audience to

Certificates of participation can be given to other healthcare professionals, such as social workers, physical therapists, and physician assistants. 

American Academy of Physician Assistants

Category 1 CME credit to eligible physician assistant preceptors. (CME-202924)

Clinical Year 

  • Start Date: June 13, 2022
  • End Date: May 19, 2023

American Osteopathic Association

In accordance with the AOA Accreditation Requirements for CME Category 1 CME Sponsors, DMU received a perfect score on the document survey, including outcomes measurement data, and is awarded Level 5 Accreditation with Commendation status as a Category 1 CME Sponsor. More information. 

Accredited through April 2027.


Council on Podiatric Medical Education

Approved through March 2027.


Iowa Board of Nursing

Approved provider #112 through April 2024.


Iowa Medical Society

AMA PRA Category 1 CreditTM for physicians. Des Moines University has met the requirements for the accreditation with commendation designation as a recognized provider of CME for physicians for six (6) years. The accreditation term is effective from September 1, 2021, through August 31, 2027. The accreditation seeks to assure the medical community and the public that DMU CME provides physicians with relevant, effective, practice-based continuing medical education that supports United States healthcare quality improvement. 

The rigorous, multi-level process for evaluating CME programs follows the high accreditation standards adopted by all seven Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) member organizations. These organizations, which represent the profession of medicine, are the American Board of Medical Specialties; the American Hospital Association; the American Medical Association; the Association for Hospital Medical Education; the Association of American Medical Colleges; the Council of Medical Specialty Societies; and the Federation of State Medical Boards of the US., Inc.