DS 169 Child Abuse Mandatory Reporter Training

Registration

Click here to access the training. 

Once a participant signs in or creates an account, they will be brought to a welcome page to select the training they need.

You must watch 100% of each training video to receive credit and move to the next video module.  You must also complete the course evaluation in order to receive the certificate.

If you have any difficulty creating an account, logging in, accessing the training page or experience any problems during either of the mandatory reporter trainings, email the Iowa State University Child Welfare Research and Training Project.
 

Overview

Children in Iowa deserve the greatest possible protection from abuse. The Department of Human Services strives to achieve this through encouraging reports when abuse is suspected, prompt assessment of these reports, and working with families to assist in providing a safe and stable home environment. Mandatory reporters are essential partners in protecting children from abuse. As professionals who have frequent contact with children, mandatory reporters are trained to identify the signs that a child may have suffered abuse or neglect. 

Who Qualifies

It’s everyone’s responsibility to report suspected child abuse.  However the law, Iowa Code section 232.69, defines some professionals as mandatory reporters. Although anyone can report child abuse and are encouraged to do so, mandatory reporters are required by law to make a report of suspected child abuse within 24 hours of becoming aware of the concern(s).

RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES

Mandatory reporters have a right to:

  • Report suspected child abuse without interference from their employer or supervisor (in accordance with Iowa Code section 232.70).  The employer or supervisor of a person who is a mandatory reporter cannot apply a policy, work rule, or other requirement that interferes with the person making a report of suspected child abuse.  
  • Immunity from any civil or criminal liability (in accordance with Iowa Code section 232.73), which might otherwise be incurred when they participate in good faith in:
    • Making a of report, photographs, or X rays,
    • Performing a medically relevant test, or
    • Aiding and assisting in an assessment.
  • Oral notification by the Department of Human Services (DHS), within 24 hours of making the report of suspected child abuse, as to whether or not the report has been accepted or rejected (in accordance with Iowa Code section 232.70).
  • Written Notice of Intake Decision from DHS, indicating whether the report of suspected child abuse was accepted or rejected (in accordance with Iowa Code section 232.70).  
  • An outcome notice from DHS (in accordance with Iowa Code section 232.70), indicating whether the report of suspected child abuse was Founded (Substantiated and Placed on the Registry), Confirmed (Substantiated but Not Placed on the Registry), or Not Confirmed (Unsubstantiated).
  • Request a copy of any founded child abuse assessment in which they were the mandatory reporter (in accordance with Iowa Code section 235A.15).

Mandatory reporters have a responsibility to:

  • Make an oral report of suspected child abuse within 24 hours when they reasonably believe a child has suffered abuse (in accordance with Iowa Code section 232.69). 
  • Make a written report within 48 hours after the oral report (in accordance with Iowa Code section 232.70).
  • Call 911 or make an oral report to law enforcement when they believe a child is in need of immediate protection (in accordance with Iowa Code section 232.70).
  • Know and identify potential child abuse as defined in Iowa Code section 232.68.

HF 731: MODIFIES MANDATORY REPORTER CHILD ABUSE AND DEPENDENT ADULT ABUSE TRAINING REQUIREMENTS AS FOLLOWS: 

  • Removes the Iowa Department of Public Health’s responsibility to review and approve mandatory reporter training curricula.
  • Requires the Department of Human Services to develop and provide the core training curriculum for all mandatory reporters in Iowa. 
  • Allows for an employer to provide supplemental training as it relates to their professional practice, in addition to the core training curriculum provided by DHS. 
  • Maintains that every mandatory reporter must complete 2 hours of training within six months of employment or self-employment, unless otherwise specified by federal regulations, and requires one hour of additional training every 3 years. 
    • The child and dependent adult abuse trainings can no longer be combined into one 2-hour course. Both the child and dependent adult abuse core trainings will be 2 hours each. 
    • All mandatory reporters are required to take the core (2-hour) training initially, but will be allowed to take a one hour recertification training every three years thereafter so long as they do so prior to the three-year expiration period.
  • Clarifies that all valid mandatory reporter training certificates issued prior to July 1, 2019 remain effective for 5 years.

MANDATORY REPORTER TRAINING FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQS)

Question: How do I know if I am a mandatory reporter?
Answer: Iowa Code 232.69(1)(b) and Iowa Code 235B.3(2) defines mandatory reporters in the state of Iowa. Please reference Iowa Code and speak to your employer to determine if your employment falls in the categories outlined. If you continue to have questions whether your employment qualifies you as a mandatory reporter, please seek legal advice from a legal professional. The Department of Human Services is not able to provide legal advice.  

Q: How do I access the training, and will I get a certificate when I complete it?
A: Both the Child Abuse Mandatory Reporter Training and the Dependent Adult Mandatory Reporter training will be available through the Department of Human Services website and available by July 1, 2019. Each participant will register with DHS’ Learning Management System and complete the training online - available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. There will be a pre- and post-test to ensure competencies are attained. Each participant will then obtain a certificate of completion to provide to their employer.

Q: Can I download, print, or email the certificate of completion?
A: Yes, the participant can download, print, and send the certificate via email.

Q: Will there be an opportunity for organizations to get a report on their employees from DHS on who has completed the training?
A: DHS will not be able to provide reports regarding who has completed the training.  All training participants, who successfully complete the training, will receive a training certificate. The participant will have the ability to email, download and upload, and print their training certificate as proof of training completion.  Employers who require their staff to provide proof of training should provide clear instructions to their employees on how their organization will track training completion.

Q: Is there a fee for each 2-hour training, or for the 1-hour recertification training?
A: There is no fee for the 2-hour training or the 1-hour recertification training, and they are free for all.

Q: After I complete the initial 2-hour training, how often am I required to recertify, and how long is the recertification training?
A: Mandatory reporters must take the 1-hour recertification training within 3 years of the initial 2-hour training, and every 3 years thereafter, in order to remain in compliance with the law.

Q: Will I be reminded that my 3-year certification is preparing to expire by DHS’ LMS?
A: Not at this time.

Q: If certification was acquired prior to July 1, 2019, will I need to take the new curriculum training to maintain my certification?
A: Legislation clarifies that all valid mandatory reporter training certificates issued prior to July 1, 2019 remain effective for five years.

Q: Is support available to me if I have a technical issue?
A: Yes. Email servicetraining@iastate.edu to access support assistance for the Learning Management System.

Q: Can I view the training on a mobile device?
A: Yes. The training will be available to be viewed on a mobile device.  The user should make certain they have a strong data connection. 

Q: Are Continuing Education Units offered?
A: Yes. Consistent with previous years, this training will offer CEUs.

Q: Is it possible to enter an alternate email address when I set up my profile?
A: Yes. The user will create their own profile, and they can select any email address they choose at that time.

Q: Is it possible to update my email address if my employment changes?
A: Yes. The user can log into the LMS and update their profile with any changes to their email address or other pertinent information at any time.

Q: Is the training offered in any languages other than English?
A: Not at this time, but we are exploring the possibility. Closed captioning in English is available.

Q: Can an employer administer the training?
A: An employer can provide supplemental training as it relates to their professional practice in addition to the core training curriculum provided by DHS.

Resources

State Approved Forms:

Informational Materials:

Additional Resources:

Course summary
Course opens: 
07/01/2019
Course expires: 
06/30/2021
Cost:
$0.00

Available Credit

Accreditation Period

Course opens: 
07/01/2019
Course expires: 
06/30/2021

Price

Cost:
$0.00
Please login or Create an Account to take this course.

Click here to access the training. 

Once a participant signs in or creates an account, they will be brought to a welcome page to select the training they need.

You must watch 100% of each training video to receive credit and move to the next video module.  You must also complete the course evaluation in order to receive the certificate.

If you have any difficulty creating an account, logging in, accessing the training page or experience any problems during either of the mandatory reporter trainings, email the Iowa State University Child Welfare Research and Training Project.